Shockingly, the house has stayed tidy for a WHOLE WEEK! Woo Hoo!! And, I've continued to make slow steady progress on Mt. Washmore, otherwise known as the laundry, LOL. There have been 2 bags sent to Goodwill already, and another is pretty close. The kids are supposed to be putting their clothes away and bringing me things that no longer fit, or won't be worn. Since I'm not getting anything from them, I must conclude that the pretty folded clothing piles I'm sending them to their rooms with are not getting put away! Might have to do a random inspection on each of them tonight to get that laundry moving into drawers and closets where it belongs!
Tim had a Dr. appt. and he'll be continuing on 2 Rx's for his blood pressure for 3 months and then they'll reevaluate. Dr. K said that most people take 3 blood pressure meds, so this isn't unusual. If only the Arthritus could be fixed with pills! He's still working on the truck in the barn that got an engine swapped into it. Probably more stuff too, but it's barn stuff, so I'm not paying really close attention! When I have to plate and insure it, then it will be on my radar, LOL.
Max had a good week working on his room. It's about 60% there I'd say. The toughest parts are done - under the bed (YIKES!) and under the desk. He actually did a couple of loads of laundry too, though I'm not sure they got folded and/or put away -- but it's a start. He's coming to the end of the first semester at Ivy Tech, and says that grades are good - B's in both classes. I find myself holding my breath, played this game before you know? And in college, I don't get a username and password to check up on him, so I have to wait till report cards to see . . . . . . and hold my breath hoping I'm not being lied to (again.) You know, I read the blogs of some moms in my circle and their darn kids are just so stinking amazing and awesome, I must admit to some jealousy. One just got an early admission into college, another is on track to recevie a scholarship for athletics, full-ride probably, somebody else is doing a great Senior project that the community is thrilled about . . . . *sigh* can I be THAT mom for a day?? Max will "get it" someday, but somedays it seems like a long wait.
I've actually had a productive week quilting too. Finished the quilting on mom's quilt yesterday and we shopped for binding fabric in North Vernon. I got the binding pieced last night, along with binding for my lap throw. Both of those and the current QoV got trimmed, and the lap throw got the binding attatched. Tonight I'll attatch mom's and the QoV's that's been waiting for binding for months! Met with a customer yesterday afternoon and she brought two quilts for simple pantographs. I didn't even talk her out of that and into more complicated work! Sometimes, a simple -- read: FAST -- job is better than a more expensive but complicated job that enevitably gets stalled along the way!! Done and paid is much better. So I'll do her two quick ones, then move on to the little bowtie quilt. I finally know what I want to do on it - the border was stumping me, LOL. The bowtie customer also has a snowball quilt with me and I need to come up with ideas for it next. She is a quilt guild customer so it would be nice to have them done before next guild meeting so she can get them bound and show them at show and tell! I could use the free publicity ;0)
Now it's time to get to work on the newsletter at my real job, more blogging later ;0)
Wednesday, November 16, 2011
Sunday, November 13, 2011
Let's catch up

Um, yeah. . . . . it's been awhile. But really, no one is reading so, it's not like the end of the world or anything, LOL.
Actually things are good right now. Max is finishing his two classes at the community college. Won't be taking any next semester because he has to ramp up working and saving up for a car. He's driving Tim's winter truck, and um, winter is coming and Tim needs the truck to get to work . . . .you see the delima, ;0)
Ellen is right now babysitting for the second week at Bethel in the nursery. She's very nervous, but excited to have a job. Unfortunately, she's considered a staff member, so that means there will be witholding on her weekly $25, bummer. Welcome to the real world missy. She's doing ok in school, keeping B's and some A's mostly. Some of her friends drive her crazy with their drama, and she never has homework because she does it all at school, or so she says. Not sure if we talked about this since I've not blogged in ages, but she had a mild heat stroke at a band practice and a couple more heat related incidents at other practicies and a contest. The result is the Dr. benched her from marching this year and next year as well. This is serious stuff :0(
Marci is LOVING Jr. High. And she seriously LOVE LOVE LOVES PE class, how weird is that? She has discovered that she is strong and fast and can keep up with the 8th graders in the class running and stuff - wow! Her grades are good, but she does have a lot of homework. She has some drama around her with girlfriends and boys and stuff - but that is normal for her - she's our little social butterfly afterall.
Tim had his second spinal injection of cortazone on Friday, so we'll wait to see if it helps with his arm. He is working on getting a truck up and running - Marci has her eye on it for when she starts driving, LOL. I'm still working at Bethel and quilting. The house is tidy right now - actually clean, not just tidy -- woo hoo!! Working on getting the laundry caught up, and I really think I will get there this time. Although, my short sleeve shirts drawer is stuffed and I still have the dark laundry to get through so I'll have to go through and get rid of some. Probably will encounter the same problem in the long sleeve drawer too.
Chickens are all good. We hatched 4 little babies from our own eggs about a month ago and they are so cute. 3 Chocolate frizzles, and one black smooth feathered which I think is a girl. Not sure on the frizzles, but I suspect 2 roos at least. We did add 3 Silver Spangled Hamburgs this year and they are darling, so dainty! We are down on regular egg layers though. Actually, we need to add some brown egg layers this spring. I'd like to get them at point-of-lay so we'll have eggs right away. I think we only have one brown egg layer right now and she's our momma, so no eggs from her right now.
So that's my update, and I'm stickin' to it ;0)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
